DeerTestimonials & Media Articles

 

 

 

Have you ever noticed how your own perception of something you have or do may differ from the opinion of someone else? Because Ruth and I are as proud of our operation as we are, perhaps we're not as objective as we should be. In order to provide you with a more unbiased opinion we thought we should add some of the articles that have been printed about D & R Processing to our website. If you would like to see how others perceive our operation just click on one of the articles below.

NOTE: These newspaper articles are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. In order to view and print you will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your system. You can download the reader for FREE from the Adobe site - click the link below and follow the prompts.

Adobe reader

Media article
Media article
Media article
Media article

 

Media article

Whether you are coming or going we appreciate you signing our D & R Processing / best-venison guestbook. By taking the time to sign our guestbook, you let us know that our website is worth it!
Please, drop us a note below. If you don't want to leave a name, at least leave your state or country. Your interest in this site is what keeps it going!
Thanks, Dave & Ruth

Make our day! Send us your comment to: info@best-venison.com

I just want to thank you for an absolutely fantastic website. Although I spent the first 22 years of my life about 250 miles west of you, near Brule/Iron River, WI (not MI), I've lived in West Virginia and Virginia for the last 40 years. My main hobby is raising trophy bluegill in my pond, but managing for wild game, and fixing wild game of all types, is a pretty major hobby. I help train a lot of people on the proper handling techniques. In the last week I've helped three novice friends clean and butcher a button buck, a moderate size doe, and a 10-point buck. I de-bone and end up with cuts virtually identical to those shown on your website. Your site was invaluable this week in being able to teach novices the cuts.

Thanks,
Knute (not a Yooper, but almost!)

P.S. Not all cuts were perfect, and my friend that got the button buck with his 50 cal muzzle loader at 30 yards, shot the poor little deer through the front shoulder kind of like he should have -- unfortunately, he didn't pay real good attention to the angle he was shooting. The bullet lodged in what was left of the one of the hind quarters, after passing through the vital organs.

***

Dave: I recently killed cow elk in late hunt here near Bozeman, Mt. I had processer mix elk meat with 25% lean pork shoulder and 12 1/2% ground chuck. Everyone thinks it is delicious. Thanks for your recipe.
Jim Gannon

***

Funny story, I was driving with a guy whose company does wetland delineation stuff and then permitting on those types of projects. We were driving to go look at a job I have going and he enjoys hunting and so of course we were talking about that subject. Somehow or another we started talking about processing deer as he enjoys chopping them up. I told him I do too but mentioned what a great job you did and that I wished you were closer to Traverse City. I was telling him about the different products you do and how when you are finished there is literally no waste at all.

The guy looks at me and says "Is his company called D & R Processing?" When I told him it was he just went on and on about how he stumbled into your website and that it has opened up a whole new world for him! He said he has been following your suggestions and cooking methods and that he is just so impressed with your knowledge. He said his wife did not used to be a big fan of venison but now jumps right in there with him and that processing their deer has really become a close family activity for them and their favorite meals.

So Dave, your reputation is spreading!"
Dan

***

Gday mates, this site has been very informative and useful, especially the actual cuts of meat. Cant wait to cut some up properly and try out some of the recipes, and thats one awesome set up you have there. I best get outta here and on me horse, all this makin me real hungry and I got huntin to do. Good on ya mates.
Cheers, Gordon (New Zealand)

***

Guys, soon as I got home I put a meatloaf in the oven and made the onion minute steaks. WOW. THEY WERE FANTASTIC. My daughter and I really enjoyed them. We're already trying to decide what to try tomorrow! Thanks again for doing such a wonderful job. Did I mention I can't believe the amount of meat.
Ed Zychowski (entry added 11/24/2008)

***

Hey gang just to say this is the BEST processing web I have found to date. I like the details and graphics you put in and the simple explanations. Also how you show the butchering charts and the cuts of meat after the processing stag .I have passed this site on to a lot of my hunting buddys. THANKS for the great web page.
Have a safe and happy hunting season
Corky Furlotte
Cold Lake
Alberta, Canada (entry added 11/09/2008)

***

Well I have been hunting whitetail in Ohio for almost 30 years and I have watched alot of others process thier own deer, but I however never tried it myself and the price of haveing a good shop do it has gone tripled since I got my first deer at ten years old after two years never even seeing one close in season. This year I'm about too try it myself and I wanted to thank you for the information in a format that is most impressive and easy to follow too the few questions I had plus alot I didn't know to question! I will refer my friends and family to your site....we all hunt!
Thanks Donovan (entry added 12/03/2007)

***

Great website... Very informative and you guys seem friendly through the computer!! That is a neat thing nowadays.
Sincerely, Mike Paulson (entry added 11/25/2007)

***

Just wanted to say thanks for the help. Your website was a great help in processing my deer.
My son and I usually go deer hunting together and his Grandpa Jim, a retired meat cutter, would always process our deer for us. We would help with the processing but not really pay attention or take notes. Grandpa Jim was in poor health when we processed our last deer a couple years ago so at that time I had enough sense to pay attention to what he was doing and make some mental notes on his technique. Jim recently passed away and my son (a senior in college) is currently away studying in England. Consequently yesterday it was just me and the small 8 point buck that I shot last weekend. I remembered a few things that grandpa told us but for the most part pretty intimidated on going solo. Your website was a God-send and although some of the techniques differed from Grandpa's technique the outcome was pretty much the same.
It took me literally 5 hours to get the job done by myself from skinning, cutting, wrapping, and into the freezer. I made a few mistakes and the shot, a little low, through both shoulders didn't help, but all in all it went very well thanks to your website. It was more of a help then you'll ever know. Thank you!
Peter L. Villard, St. Paul, MN (entry added 11/08/2007)

***

Thank you for your website - it is the best site I found on the net after "googling" for three days. I wish I lived in Michigan. Great Job! Todd Rouse (entry added 10/29/2007)

***

I was just surfing the net and found your very informational site. I'm a Meat cutter for almost 30 years and have cut thousands of deer myself, but i really enjoyed how detailed you made everything for others to see. I added you to my favorite web page for future informational stuff. I am John of John and Ron's Deer Cutting in Deforest WI. Have a great season! John Swenson,
Deforest, WI (entry added 09/28/2007)

***

Dave & Ruth,
Kudos to the two of you! I was surfing the net looking for info on Tumors and Cysts. I have been cleaning our own deer now for the past two years. I cleaned 14 deer this season and it seemed every deer I processed I found a cyst (Thought it was a tumor until I ran across your virtual page.) I usually always find them in the fatty portion of the hind quarters. While I still haven't been able to sale my family on eating the venison cuts, we've been making all our deer into Summer sausage. I would fair to venture I'm L.E.M.'s best customer. (-: Thanks for taking the time and placing an outstanding site out here on the web!
Ron & Loretta Parrish
Green Ridge, MO (entry added 02/13/2007)

***

Hello, I want to drop a line and tell you that your site is probably the best on the internet I have seen. I have been hunting for 38 years and there is always something new to learn and your site is a great teacher. Thank you for helping to educate hunters.
Jerry
NJ (entry added 02/04/2007)

***

I just found your website today. The link was posted on Buckwildadventures.com in MD. All I can say is this is without a doubt the best website for skinning/butchering I have ever found. I've been looking since August for something like this. Although I did not get any deer this year I will definitely save this site to my "favorites" and use it next year. Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge and experience in such great detail. I am looking forward to ordering your cookbook in time for next season.
Thanks again,
MD Bowhunter
Mark Sword (entry added 01/30/2007)

***

I'm a hunter from Haliburton Ontario. I was just looking for some information on what our butcher gives us from the deer, and I wanted to say Nice Site!
thanks!
Trevor (entry added 01/12/2007)

***

Dave and Ruth,
This is the site I was hoping to find! "Interesting and Informative" Lots of great ifo and even gps location. You and Ruth have covered everything we needed answered and then some! This has to be the best site about venison to date! Thanks to you I can answer questions that others have on learning how to handle their deer properly, I will just send them to your site!
Nicely done!
Charles Penhorwood
North Lewisburg,Ohio - (entry added 01/06/2007)

***

Dave,
We just recently received your recipe book and right away we had to go and get a meat tenderizer to make the "cube steak" recipes. Your recipe book and that meat tenderizer were the best buys we made this year! We have made several of the recipes with a couple of our own variations and they were Goooooood! Mmmmmmm! Mmmmm! I really don't know how anyone could NOT like venison the way you prepare and cook it. Thanks again!
Steve & Kathy Koski
Bovey, MN (entry added 12-20-2006)

***

You have a great site! I live in Texas but have recently benefitted from your information on cuts: at (almost) 62 yrs. old, I hunted for and shot my first ever whitetail (14-inch antler spread buck). Your story about Kaytee's hunt was great--hunting is about family and about meat and about what you can do with that meat to build family memories. In Texas, we conserve prime breeding bucks with a "slot" system where we harvest spikes and bucks with an antler spread of over 13 inches. Kaytee did great!
James Ellsworth (entry added 12-14-2006)

***

This is only my second year of bow-hunting deer and elk. I have yet to butcher or process my own animal, but I am planning now for next season. Your website has given me many good ideas, from which knives to use to de-boning methods. Many sites have drawings of deer anatomy, but yours is the first site that uses actual photos. That is appreciated. If I were in your neighborhood, I'd probably just take the deer to you, but with 75 miles to go to the nearest trustworthy processor, I'm convinced I'll need to learn how to do this myself and your website has inspired me to make sure I learn how to do it right! Thanks!
Dave
Sheridan, MT (entry added 12-10-2006)

***

After a couple of days of searching the internet, I came across your web site. So far, I believe it to be the best site above venison that I've seen. Please keep up the good work and stay on-line.Thanks,
Jack Daws
Sherwood, MI (entry added 12-05-2006)

***

Dave and Ruth, Thanks for the information you have put together. You are truly salt of the earth people.
Ron Long
Hampton,Va (entry added 12-05-2006)